Ability

(When you lose something, you gain something else. It’s one of the laws of the universe – balance. But is it also true that if you gain something, you must lose something, too?)

I can’t see it – this class is being held in a sad, windowless room beneath the earth, but it makes no difference – but I know that it’s raining. I’m not a weather psychic or some crap like that. I can just hear a lot of things.

Right now, for example, I can hear three people stifling yawns, and two people gossiping about me and Stella. I cringe. Maybe if they were like me, they would –

“What is it?” I hear Stella’s voice.

“Nothing,” I say, and I place one hand on hers and another on the bumps on my book.

Leave a Reply

