‘The Host’ News: Saoirse Ronan cast

Saoirse Ronan, star of Atonement (the cheeky fellows out there might remember her as The Interruption Kid), The Lovely Bones and the upcoming Hanna (well, at least here in the Philippines), has been cast in the leading role of The Host, the big-screen adaptation of the book by Stephenie Meyer of Twilight fame, New York Magazine reports.

Well, well, well. This is news to me – I didn’t know they were actually going to make a The Host movie, and I didn’t know that Saoirse Ronan was in talks to be cast as Melanie/Wanda. It’s not all that surprising, though, what with all the Young Adult-centered movie news nowadays as The Twilight Saga winds down and The Hunger Games fills its cast, that news of less-followed books getting the silver screen treatment get overlooked. I am not being mean with the ‘less-followed’ comment by the way – it’s just that, compared to the Twihards and the Hunger Games fanatics (like me), The Host has a more modest fan base.

I won’t go into my analysis of the book – I would say, however, that The Host provides a very interesting take on the dystopian future. Although there are rough spots, such as incredibly cheesy dialog and a really irritating deus ex machina, it was a pleasant read as a whole.

Saoirse Ronan

It is interesting that they cast Saoirse Ronan into the role of Melanie/Wanda, though. In the book, Melanie (the human) is said to be quite older than Saoirse’s 17 years, an important point in establishing her relationship with Jared (one of the male leads), and something to consider in Wanda’s (the alien) relationship to Ian (another male lead). I do not know if she will be asked to portray an older age than her own, but, really, I can’t see her as anything but a teenager at this point. She projects strength, however, and her performances suggest that she can do nuances in character pretty well; I believe that both aspects are important in portraying the human-saddled-by-an-alien in Meyer’s book. I have faith that she will do well, or, at the very least, not look like a girl who stares into space a lot (my original fear in this book’s movie adaptation).

This move by the casting director also puts the film in largely YA-territory – although the book was labeled as adult fiction (and had its share of adult situations – just the SFW-kind). I’m guessing the studios are trying to follow-up on Meyer’s success when it comes to attracting teenage audiences.

I’m pretty hopeful for this one, and I’ll be on the lookout for more news as it nears production. Let’s see.

