Unknown

(I always return to writing about this, for some reason. I’m a sucker for the underdog, the best friend, the guardian angel – basically all the archetypes of the second lead, the one who is not meant to be. I don’t know why – I guess I see myself in them, on some level.)

“Don’t say a word; just – just hear me out.

“I love you. I love you – Jesus, I can’t stop saying it – I love you.

“I’m not saying these words as an ultimatum, that I cannot stand to just be your friend anymore, and I’m not saying these words as a wish, hope, or any kind of prayer. I say this in the way I tell you what I had for breakfast, or what idiot movie I want to see – because you are my best friend, and I want you to know.”

With that he smiles, and his reflection smiles, too.

Leave a Reply

